skip navigation

Victory Links to host inaugural NSC Championship youth golf event, August 19-20

08/11/2017, 3:15pm CDT
By Barclay Kruse, Chief Communications Officer

Blaine, Minn. (August 11, 2017) – The Victory Links Golf Course, at the National Sports Center in Blaine, is proud to announce a new youth golf tournament. The NSC Championship will be played Saturday and Sunday, August 19-20 at Victory Links. Boys’ and girls’ players will be divided into two age groups: 13-15 and 16-18. Players qualified through qualifying tournaments held around the state, and they will represent each of the congressional districts in the state.

Players will play 18 holes each day, for a total of 36 holes. A Champions’ Dinner will be held at the National Sports Center’s Welcome Center following the conclusion of play on Saturday. All players and their families are invited to attend.

“Youth golf is a key part of our mission at Victory Links,” said the Tom Kirkland, Head Golf Professional. “We work hard to create a kid-friendly environment at the course, and to create programs and events that serve youth golfers. The new NSC Championship is our newest initiative. We’re really excited about its potential to involve youth golfers from all around the state.”

Here is a list of the qualifying tournaments.

District 1: Willow Creek Golf Club, Rochester, June 19.
District 2: Legacy Golf Club, Faribault, July 3.
District 3: Edinburgh USA, Brooklyn Park, June 19.
District 4: Goodrich Golf Club, Maplewood, June 23.
District 5: Hiawatha Golf Club, Minneapolis, June 29.
District 6: Victory Links Golf Course, Blaine, July 13.
District 7: Alexandria Golf Club, Alexandria, June 28.
District 8: The Classic at Maddens, Brainerd, July 12.

Here is a list of players.

Girls’ 13-15:

Maren Aikens, Rochester
Toni Baldwin, Elk River
Ali Branca, Rochester
Shelby Busker, Detroit Lakes
Ally Chan, Excelsior
Leah Herzog, Red Wing
Janice Kim, Edina
Erin Sample, Elk River
Hannah Selig, Rochester
Anna Tollette, Ramsey
Kathryn Van Arragon, Blaine
Rileigh Vojta, St. Francis
Surena Vu, Maplewood

Boys’ 13-15:

Tommy Beutz, Chanhassen
Jake Birdwell, Blaine
Luke Danielson, Woodbury
Jack DeBaere, Woodbury
Grant Greni, Otsego
Jonathan Jamieson, Shoreview
Dylan Nelko, Plymouth
Grant Nelson, Mahtomedi
Brady Raph, Pine River
Mason Roloff, Blaine
Brandon Sperling, Lakeville
Nate Stevens, Northfield
Bennett Thomas, Lakeville
John Tucker, Edina
Ben Wackman, Blaine
Jack Wellen, Blaine
James Ylitalo, Delano
Walter Ylitalo, Buffalo

Girls’ 16-18:

Elizabeth Azar, Edina
Rachel Ganske, North Oaks
Cayla Kim, Woodbury
Claudia Kim, Woodbury
Joanna Kim, Edina
Natalie Nelson, Excelsior
Grey Randle, Eden Prairie
Melanie Roth, Minnetonka
Madison Scheevel, Preston
Isabel Schindler, Plymouth
Jessica Smith, Lakeville
Molly Stevens, Northfield
Sophia Yoemans, Red Wing

Boys’ 16-18:

Aiden Brovold, Mankato
Jacob Caspers, Hutchinson
Andrew Chisholm, Maplewood
Benedict Corbid, Stillwater
Thomas Huettl, Lake City
Seth Olson, Montevideo
Keegan Poppenberg, Esko
Gabe Rensenbrink, White Bear Lake
Austin Seavert, Becker
Zack Stewart, Rochester
Carter Taney, Savage
Logan Toftner, Minneapolis
Nathan Tollette, Ramsey
Jake White, Champlin
Logan Xiong, Maplewood

Tag(s): Press Releases