skip navigation

Victory Links crowns champions at inaugural NSC Golf Championship, August 19-20

08/22/2017, 5:15pm CDT
By Barclay Kruse, Chief Communications Officer

Blaine, Minn. (August 22, 2017) – The Victory Links Golf Course, at the National Sports Center in Blaine, crowned four champions at its NSC Championship youth golf tournament August 19-20. Boys’ and girls’ players were divided into two age groups: 13-15 and 16-18. Players qualified through qualifying tournaments held around the state, and represented each of the congressional districts in the state.

Here is a list of the qualifying tournaments.

District 1: Willow Creek Golf Club, Rochester, June 19.
District 2: Legacy Golf Club, Faribault, July 3.
District 3: Edinburgh USA, Brooklyn Park, June 19.
District 4: Goodrich Golf Club, Maplewood, June 23.
District 5: Hiawatha Golf Club, Minneapolis, June 29.
District 6: Victory Links Golf Course, Blaine, July 13.
District 7: Alexandria Golf Club, Alexandria, June 28.
District 8: The Classic at Maddens, Brainerd, July 12.

Players played 18 holes each day, for a total of 36 holes. A Champions’ Dinner was held at the National Sports Center’s Welcome Center following the conclusion of play on Saturday. All players and their families were invited to attend.

“Youth golf is a key part of our mission at Victory Links,” said the Tom Kirkland, Head Golf Professional. “We work hard to create a kid-friendly environment at the course, and to create programs and events that serve youth golfers. The new NSC Championship is our newest initiative. We’re really excited about its potential to involve youth golfers from all around the state.

“This year’s tournament was a great start, and we’re looking forward to growing the event in future years.”

Here are the results:

Girls’ 13-15:
1. Leah Herzog, Red Wing, 3 under par
2. Janice Kim, Edina, -2
3. Shelby Busker, Detroit Lakes, +1

Boys’ 13-15:
1. Brady Raph, Pine River, even par
2. Brandon Sperling, Lakeville, +2
3. Jack Wellen, Blaine, +2

Girls’ 16-18:
1. Joanna Kim, Edina, +1
2. Sophia Yoemans, Red Wing, +2
3. Molly Stevens, Northfield, +4

Boys’ 16-18:
1. Thomas Huettl, Lake City, +6
2. Benedict Corbid, Stillwater, +10
3. Logan Xiong, Maplewood, +14

Click here for the complete results.

Enjoy this photo gallery of the champions:

Tag(s): NSC Blog