skip navigation

Nine champions crowned at 2018 All-American Girls' Hockey Tournament

11/20/2018, 11:15am CST
By Barclay Kruse, NSC Chief Communications Officer

Blaine, Minn. (November 20, 2018) — Back in 1993, it was a pioneering event in female ice sports in Minnesota. This year, the All-American Girls Hockey Tournament, celebrated its 26th anniversary November 16-18 at the Schwan Super Rink on the campus of the National Sports Center (NSC) in Blaine, Minn. 

When you’ve been around for 26 years you start to get second-generation players taking the ice, and that’s exactly what happened this year. Jennifer Williams and Jenna Boutain were among the first Minnesota youth girls’ hockey players when they played in the All-American Tournament in 1995. And both had daughters playing in the tournament for the first time, as teammates on the Rosemount U10 A team.

Both Boutain and Williams went on to play at high levels. Boutain won a state championship at Apple Valley in 1998 and went on to play college hockey at Minnesota State Mankato and Bemidji State. Williams played for four years at St. Cloud State. Both embrace their roles as pioneers in Minnesota female hockey.

“I was on the absolute turning point for girls’ and women’s hockey,” says Williams. “My first year playing varsity hockey was as an eighth grader and it was the first season of varsity hockey in Rosemount. Then, my first season up at St. Cloud State was the first year of transition into Division-1 hockey and I was able to play D-1 all four years.”

At this year’s All-American Tournament 64 teams participated, representing four states and provinces -- Illinois, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Manitoba. On Sunday afternoon, champions were crowned in nine different divisions: 10A, 10B (American and National), 12A (American and National), 12B (American and National), and 15A (American and National).

Here is a run-down of the championship game scores:

10A: Osseo-Maple Grove 2, Roseville 1.
10B American: Glenview Stars (Ill.) 2, Woodbury Royal 0.
10B National: Proctor-Hermantown Mirage White 4, Anoka-Rogers 0.
12A American: Orono-Westonka 3, Duluth Icebreakers 2.
12A National: Chaska-Chanhassen 2, Roseville 1.
12B American: Osseo-Maple Grove 2, Anoka-Rogers Black 1.
12B National: Bismarck (N.D.) 2, Anoka-Rogers Black 1.
15A American: Proctor-Hermantown 5, Andover 1.
15A National: Minnetonka 3, Alexandria 1.

Here is a photo gallery of the 2018 champions:

Tag(s): NSC Blog  Press Releases