skip navigation

Blake, Breck and Benilde-St. Margaret's have the most Schwan's Cup girls' championships

12/17/2018, 4:00pm CST
By Barclay Kruse, NSC Chief Communications Officer

In the 15 years the Schwan’s Cup girls’ division has been held there have been 12 different teams hoisting the championship trophy in the top division, either called the Blue Division (2003-2015) or the Gold Division (2016-2018).

Three teams lead the way with two titles apiece:

Benilde-St. Margaret’s in 2006 and 2010, pictured:

Breck in 2009 and 2011, pictured:

Blake in 2007 and 2017, pictured:

The other Schwan’s Cup girls’ top-division champions are, oldest to newest:

2003: Cloquet-Esko-Carlton
2004: Stillwater
2005: Elk River
2008: Minnetonka
2012: Dodge County
2013: Achiever Academy
2014: Spring Lake Park
2015: Centennial
2016: Proctor/Hermantown

Blake returns in 2018, gunning to win their third title. They come into Schwan’s Cup as the highest-ranked team in the Gold Division, and based on that, the favorite. Centennial and Proctor/Hermantown are also in the bracket; a championship victory on December 28 will move them into the two-championship club.

Tag(s): NSC Blog